Jury Panel

M F Thomas (Jury Chairman) 


M F Thomas (Jury Chairman)

Sri M F Thomas is well known Film Critic and film society activist. He started as the General Secretary of Chithralekha film society, the first and foremost film society of Kerala.
• Acted as the Member in Jury panels of National and State award committees, several times.
• Jury member of Indian Panorama twice.
• Member of selection committee IFFK five times.
• Member, advisory committee, Central Board of film certification.
• Chairman, State Television Award committee.
• Former Administrative Council Member, Kerala State Chalachithra academy.
• Former Vice president, Kerala children’s film society.
• Published Eight Books on cinema in Malayalam
• Got the State Award for the Best book on cinema for “Adoorinte Chalachithra Yathrakal” in 2006.
• Retired as the senior sub editor, State Institute of Languages, Kerala.
• Currently Academic council member, Malayalam University.

Sanal Kumar Sasidharan  (Jury Member) 


Sanal Kumar Sasidharan (Jury Member)

Sanal Kumar Sasidharan was born in Perumkadavila village, Thiruvananthapuram district, Kerala on 8 April 1977. He graduated in Zoology from VTM NSS College Dhanuvachapuram,Trivandrum and Law then started his job as a lawyer. In 2001, he formed a film society, Kazhcha Chalachithra Vedi with his colleagues, for making independent movies through crowd funding. He was awarded as the Best Director in the Kerala State Film Awards 2014.

His film career started in 2000 as an Art Assistant in the malayalam film Mankolangal.After that he made his first short movie Wonder world in 2001. The cinematography was by Sunny Joseph and editing by Beena Paul. The short fiction was produced by Kazhcha Chalachithra Vedi by way of crowd funding. In 2008 he directed Parole produced by a group of friends from Malayalam blog community. His third short film Frog, won a Kerala State Television Award for best short film in 2008.

In 2014 Kazhcha Chalachithra Vedi produced his first feature-length movie Oraalppokkam for which he had been awarded the Best Director . The film has got fipresci and Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema awards for the best Malayalam film in the International Film Festival of Kerala 2014. He has also bagged the Kerala State Film Award for Best Director in 2014. His second movie Ozhivudivasathe Kali (An Off-Day Game), which was completed in 2015 has been officially selected to International Film Festival of Kerala and Mumbai Film Festival. The film has also been selected to the Film Basar Recommends in the Film Basar in Goa. Ozhivudivasathe Kali won the Best Film award 2015 Kerala state film awards.

Sreebala K Menon (Jury Member – PQFF 2016) 


Sreebala K Menon (Jury Member)

Sreebala K Menon is a Malayali Author and Filmmaker who won the 2005 Kerala Sahitya Akademi Award -‘Best Humor writing ‘- for her book 19, Canal Road. She has published a collection of short stories named ‘Slyviaplathinte Masterpiece’ by Mathrubhumi Books. Love 24×7, her debut movie in Malayalam won her Kerala State Film Award and Ramu Kariat Award. (Best debutant director 2015)
Sreebala has done her post-graduation in English literature from Madras University . She got trained in science and development communication at C-DIT, Trivandrum.
Sreebala K. menon has directed the film Love 24×7, Love 24×7 is a romantic comedy film written by Sreebala herself. The movie won her Kerala State Film award and Ramu Kariat award for best debutant director 2015 .Sreebala’s 20-minute short film in 2009 Panthibhojanam, received good reviews for its take on caste. The theme of the film draws on different ideas of food; shared food between friends, food that is untouchable for one caste, but a delicacy for another, and the food of the community feast that can be collectively cooked and eaten. Her short film Journey from Darkness to Light won third prize at the Ability Fest 2005.Menon worked with director Sathyan Anthikad on many movies. Sreebala is an entrant member of the female directors league based in Malayalam.